Freeplug vs. Wix, Squarespace and rent-to-own websites
What it costs to start, what you pay each month, and whether you end up owning your site.
Which option lets you own your website?
Freeplug
- Upfront cost
- $0
- Monthly price
- $35–$65/mo
- Payments count toward owning it?
- Yes, every dollar counts toward the buyout
- Lowest price to own it
- From $500 (20% off if you own your domain)
- Who does the work
- Done for you
Monthly website services
RW Media (pricing page, opens in a new tab)
- Upfront cost
- Not stated
- Monthly price
- $299–$999/mo
- Payments count toward owning it?
- Yes, rent-to-own
- Lowest price to own it
- Buyout equals 12 months of payments
- Who does the work
- Done for you
Grippy Code (pricing page, opens in a new tab)
- Upfront cost
- Not stated
- Monthly price
- $99–$499/mo
- Payments count toward owning it?
- No, per their site (source, opens in a new tab)
- Lowest price to own it
- Buy outright for $999–$4,999
- Who does the work
- Done for you
LeaseReady Websites (pricing page, opens in a new tab)
- Upfront cost
- $250 setup
- Monthly price
- $250/mo
- Payments count toward owning it?
- Yes
- Lowest price to own it
- Yours after 36 on-time payments
- Who does the work
- Done for you
Pay Per Month Websites (pricing page, opens in a new tab)
- Upfront cost
- Not stated
- Monthly price
- $39–$79/mo
- Payments count toward owning it?
- Site is yours from day one (per their terms)
- Lowest price to own it
- Not stated
- Who does the work
- Done for you
DIY builders
Wix (pricing page, opens in a new tab)
- Upfront cost
- Free plan
- Monthly price
- Free, or from $17.77/mo billed yearly
- Payments count toward owning it?
- No
- Lowest price to own it
- Not stated
- Who does the work
- You build it
Squarespace (pricing page, opens in a new tab)
- Upfront cost
- Not stated
- Monthly price
- From $19/mo billed yearly
- Payments count toward owning it?
- No
- Lowest price to own it
- Not stated
- Who does the work
- You build it
GoDaddy Website Builder (pricing page, opens in a new tab)
- Upfront cost
- Free
- Monthly price
- Free; paid plans not stated
- Payments count toward owning it?
- No
- Lowest price to own it
- Not stated
- Who does the work
- You build it
Durable (pricing page, opens in a new tab)
- Upfront cost
- Not stated
- Monthly price
- $25–$49/mo
- Payments count toward owning it?
- No
- Lowest price to own it
- Not stated
- Who does the work
- You build it
Local agencies
San Marcos WebDesign (pricing page, opens in a new tab)
- Upfront cost
- $300–$800 one-time
- Monthly price
- Not stated
- Payments count toward owning it?
- One-time purchase
- Lowest price to own it
- From $300 (one-time)
- Who does the work
- Done for you
Owned, with 1 month of support.
Oak Harbor Web Designs (pricing page, opens in a new tab)
- Upfront cost
- $0 down
- Monthly price
- $175/mo, 12-month minimum
- Payments count toward owning it?
- Not stated
- Lowest price to own it
- Not stated
- Who does the work
- Done for you
Arise Tech Co (pricing page, opens in a new tab)
- Upfront cost
- From $1,500
- Monthly price
- Care plans from $79/mo
- Payments count toward owning it?
- Not stated
- Lowest price to own it
- From $1,500
- Who does the work
- Done for you
Prices as of Oct 31, 2026, from each company's public website. Prices and terms can change, so check with each company.